How to delete Twitter account?
Is it time to quit Twitter?
Sure, the social media platform is an outlet where you can stay on top of breaking news or current events and cultural conversations.
But there's also "doomscrolling" – you know, when you wade through a feed filled with bad news and keep scrolling anyway. It was especially tough to avoid last year as many Americans remained at home during the COVID-19 pandemic.
You have to deactivate Twitter first
While Twitter allows you to deactivate your account just like Facebook and Instagram, it works a little differently. In order to delete your Twitter account, you have to deactivate it first.
To do this, go to More on the left side of the screen, then Settings and Privacy. Under "Your Account," you'll see the option to deactivate your account.
When deactivated, your user name and profile will not appear on Twitter's website or mobile apps. If you notice your account gets reactivated without you using the app, it might be due to third-party apps you've given permission to connect to your Twitter account. Make sure to revoke third-party access.
What happens when you delete Twitter?
If you don't access your account for 30 days after deactivate it, it will be permanently deleted. That means you can't reactivate it after the 30-day window, and all your old tweets are gone.
However, your information might still appear on search engines like Google and Bing. You have to follow up with the appropriate search engine to have that data removed.
Also, if you still want to hang on to those old tweets, Twitter allows users to download their archive.